Skip to main content

SAO Advisory Board

The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory receives direction, guidance and oversight from the SAO Advisory Board, composed of advocates dedicated to astrophysics research and pursuing the next big discoveries.

Dr. Deepak Raghavan

Atlanta, GA
Board Chair

Mr. Jim E. Erbs

Orlando, FL
Emeritus Committee Co-Chair

Mr. Thomas Clay

Boulder, CO
Advancement Committee Chair

Mr. David Cowan

Atherton, CA

Mr. Chris Dickerson

Kildeer, IL
Nominating & Governance Committee Chair

Dr. Elizabeth (Lizzie) Hudson

Cambridge, MA
Board Vice-Chair

Mr. Murthy Nukala

San Mateo, CA

Mr. Mark Pirrung

Atlanta, GA

Mr. John C. Ryan

Orono, MN

Brian Schmidt

Canberra, Australia

Mr. Michael J. Tuteur

Boston, MA
Emeritus Committee Co-Chair

Mr. Phil Young

Portola Valley, CA